Care Certificate

The Care Certificate covers the learning outcomes, competences and standards of behaviour that are expected of Health Care Support Workers. It is one of the building blocks of the HCSW Foundation Programme and aims to make sure that you are caring, compassionate and provide quality care in your work.

The video below introduces the Care Certificate and the 15 standards it contains.

All Health Care Support Workers should complete the following workbooks for each of the standards within the Care Certificate.

  1. Understand your role
  2. Your personal development
  3. Duty of care
  4. Equality and diversity
  5. Work in a person centred way
  6. Communication
  7. Privacy and dignity
  8. Fluids and nutrition
  9. Awareness of mental health, dementia, and learning disability
  10. Safeguarding adults
  11. Safeguarding children
  12. Basic life support
  13. Health and safety
  14. Handling information
  15. Infection prevention and control